Word for Word National Non-Fiction Festival Geelong

The 2015 Word for Word Festival program has been released. By the time I worked up what I thought was sufficient courage to believe I may be able to present my book, I was too late to be included.

However, the editor of Finding Mary, Anne Manne is discussing her latest book, ‘The Life of I: The new culture of narcissism’, which is doing extremely well 12 months after publication. A recent article in The Monthly describes ‘The Life of I: The new culture of narcissism’ as an insightful and provocative new book’.

While I originally doubted the merit of the subject matter I have been proven wrong and I wonder why. What is the current fascination/interest in narcissism? What is a narcissist?

Dictionary.com offers the following definition;
noun
1. a person who is overly self-involved, and often vain and selfish.
2. Psychoanalysis: a person who suffers from narcissism, deriving erotic gratification from admiration of his or her own physical or mental attributes.

People with narcissistic personality disorder are not interested in the feelings of others – they lack empathy; they are unable to feel or appreciate feelings which are not their own. They demonstrate a willingness to exploit others for one’s own needs, a sense of entitlement, a belief in the importance and superiority of self over others, a determination to use any means for self-aggrandisement, and a destructive rage when thwarted. At their core lies “an inability to love”. More male narcissists register on the pathological end of the spectrum.

Sociopathic or psychopathic traits are further along the spectrum. The symptoms and possible causes can be differentiated as below.

The psychopath vs sociopath differences are clearly seen in the causes behind the two disorders. Most experts, including newhealthguide.org, states that heredity and genetics are the primary cause of an individual becoming a psychopath. Factors in the environment and an individual’s upbringing are the main causes behind a person becoming a sociopath. And so a sociopath and psychopath difference is seen in nurture versus nature as the root cause. (http://nobullying.com/psychopath-vs-sociopath/)

My brother filled all the above criteria and worse. The above information supports my belief that my brother’s sociopathic behaviour developed due to the indulgence of a family who feared he would die. Whatever the reasons he destroyed many lives and that cannot be forgotten or forgiven or repaired, it is a lifelong sentence.

I have not read Anne’s book and have no desire to. Perhaps the sheer fascination people have with themselves today; the selfies, the ‘I’ society, which is a part of Anne’s book has initiated the interest.

Perhaps my book will be creating as much interest a year from now.

Please note: Unless specifically referenced all information expressed here is my own and is not clinically substantiated.

